RRW, barracks Brecon

Royal Regiment of Wales

PHOTO TAKEN FROM THE BRECON CANAL BARGE GO TO THE WEBSITE FOR HISTORY ON THE RRW,

http://www.rrw.org.uk/

AND THATS ALL YOU ARE GETTING TODAY,,,  IVE HAD A LONG DAY AFTER THE AUTUMN TINTS COACH TRIP WITH TANAT VALLEY COACHES,

had a very pleasant trip up the canal as far as the aquaduct  photos will be  on here soon

http://www.dragonfly-cruises.co.uk/

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ginny
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 12:41:56

    Love your pictures!! Are you originally from Wales??? I have distant relatives over there but don;t know them. Some of them had the last name of Roberts. Elwyn Roberts. Have you ever heard of him??

    Reply

    • A Roberts
      Oct 06, 2011 @ 14:38:43

      I am a Roberts. not excactly true what the wikipedia say of the roberts surname. for instance, son of is Ap, as son of Robert. would be Ap Robert. but always the first name is used like Ap Roberts is not used my son I could call,, Ap Anthony,, but not my daughter,
      Roberts is a surname of North Welsh origin, deriving from the Anglo Saxon/Norman given name Robert, meaning “bright fame” – from the Germanic elements “hrod” meaning fame and “beraht” meaning bright. Roberts may mean either “servant of Robert” or “son of Robert”; the latter is more common in Wales, while the former is more common in England.[1][2] Although the name Robert was known in England before the Norman Conquest in 1066, it was mainly introduced into England by the Normans.[3] Today the surname Roberts is common in both England, Wales and the Isle of Man, with the biggest concentration by far occurring in North Wales. In colloquial North-Walian Welsh “Roberts” is often pronounced as “Robaits”.[citation needed] The name is uncommon in Scotland and Ireland.

      so you asking if i knew of Elwyn roberts, there are four in my familly at this time i had several uncles called elwyn all deciesed.

      Reply

  2. Ginny
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 12:49:19

    I’ve never met Elwyn but my sister did when she went to Ireland and Wales in 2001. This Elwyn built Organs years ago. I have the newspaper clipping and he also wrote a book but I can’t read it because of the different language. I do have some poems that he wrote that he translated for my sister. Guess he would be in his 80’s or maybe has passed away by now. I found him online but no way to get in contact. That was a few years back. The sir names of my ancestors were Jones and Alexander. I think it was one of my Great Grandfather;s sisters that married a Roberts. They all came from Bodgri, Tynlon, N. Wales. Relatives there now live in the Pwillheli, Caernarvon, N. Wales area I think. I know there are tons of Jone’s there..Ha! And Williams was my Great Grandmothers maiden name. Lots of those names also. I sure is pretty country over there. Almost looks like here except for I’m not near any bodies of water.

    Reply

Leave a comment